Cemetery Dance, FEARnet join forces

Cemetery Dance and FEARnet formally announced yesterday that they are working together to bolster the horror fiction coverage found on the FEARnet website. FEARnet is, of course, a cable channel devoted to horror, boasting not only a deep slate of original movies and series but the combined libraries of Sony Pictures Television and Lionsgate. I doubt that if you’re a regular reader of October Country that I need to tell you anything about Cemetery Dance, so we’ll just say that they are the preeminent small press publisher of horror fiction and leave it at that. That these two are working together to bring coverage of horror literature to FEARnet’s wide and established audience is a good thing for all parties involved.

And, I’m happy (and proud and humbled) to say, I am actually one of the parties involved. Cemetery Dance’s Brian James Freeman has asked me to join the team of writers (which includes Bev Vincent, Nanci Kalanta of Horror World, Del Howison of Dark Delicacies, Lisa Morton and Kevin Quigley) contributing to the site. I jumped at the chance, and it looks like my first piece will be online sometime next week. What I do there will be similar to what I do here – a mix of reviews, news bits, and interviews. I couldn’t be more excited, and I hope that I can contribute in some small way to the success of this project.

My work there will not slow me down here, though. I’ve got a big batch of stuff planned for October Country over the next couple of months, and hopefully some of the FEARnet folks will come along for the ride. I continue to be amazed at the opportunities I’ve gotten over the past couple of years to add my voice to the conversation in and around the horror genre, and I will work as hard as I can to add something worthwhile.

For those who have become regular readers of this little blog, thanks. For those authors and publishers who have let me interview them for this site or sent me books to review, thanks. It’s because of those opportunites (and the chance to write for places like Horror World and Dark Scribe) that I’ve been invited aboard this new project. I look forward to seeing you at FEARnet, and just know that you’re all welcome here at OC anytime.

Leave a comment