Literary Stocking Stuffers

Everybody in my family knows what a bookhound I am, so it’s inevitable that a book or three comes my way each Christmas. This year was no exception. One of the perks of running your own blog is that you can occasionally make self-indulgent posts like this one, where you brag about the great gifts you got. So, here’s a rundown of the books I found under my tree this year – I hope you’ll share your own holiday haul in the comments!

TelegraphAvenue

Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon
I fell in love with Chabon’s work with Wonder Boys, and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay sealed the deal. I can’t wait to dive into this novel about friends, family, music, and whatever else Chabon can layer in. Also, my vocabulary increases an average of 10-15% every time I read a Chabon book, which is just a bonus.

LifeAfterDeathLife After Death by Damien Echols
Like many, I began following the story of the “West Memphis Three” after catching HBO’s documentary, Paradise Lost. The events surrounding the case are horrific for everyone involved, especially the three young boys who were murdered and the three young men who lost a significant portion of their lives to prison for a crime that they didn’t commit. This will be the first glimpse inside the head of one of the accused killers, the supposed ringleader of the group, Damien Echols, and I can already tell it’s going to be a heartbreaking piece of work.


The Flame Alphabet
by Ben Marcus
FlameAlphabetIn a truly unique premise for a horror novel, Marcus reveals what happens when the speech of children becomes lethal. How do the adults handle it when their most precious creations turn on them? How do kids handle these new abilities? I had the pleasure of interviewing Marcus about this book earlier this year, and it’s clear he’s tackling some big ideas in the book. I can’t wait to dig in.

Leave a Reply

