Essential October Read: R.J. Sevin

It’s become an annual tradition here in October Country to share my Essential October Reads, those works that best capture the essence of the Halloween season for me. This year I’ve asked some of my favorite authors to share their own Essential October Reads with us. 

Today’s essentials come from publisher/editor/writer R.J. Sevin, who has both a movie and a book haunting his October dreams….

I don’t have a favorite Halloween read. I associate the holiday with horror movies far more than I do horror fiction. I re-watch my favorites throughout the month of October, culminating with the original Night of the Living Dead and Fulci’s Zombi as Halloween night comes to an end.

That said, no one captures the essence of the season like Bradbury. The October Country indeed! I wanna live there!

R.J. Sevin and his wife, Julia, founded Creeping Hemlock Press in 2004. In the past eight years they’ve released the critically-acclaimed anthology Corpse Blossoms, books by Lawrence Block, Tom Piccirilli and Tim Lebbon (among many others), and started the zombie novel imprint “Print Is Dead.”  This month they joined editor John Joseph Adams in launching a new digital horror magazine, Nightmare Magazine.

More Essential October Reads

Leave a Reply

