Essential October Read: Brian Keene

It’s become an annual tradition here in October Country to share my Essential October Reads, those works that best capture the essence of the Halloween season for me. This year I’ve asked some of my favorite authors to share their own Essential October Reads with us.

Today, I’m thrilled to welcome award-winning author Brian Keene as he shares a Halloween classic from one of the most respected names in the genre.

As a kid, October was when I re-read John Bellairs’ The House With A Clock In It’s Walls and The Figure In The Shadows. These days, October is when I re-read one author’s entire body of work. Last year it was Joe R. Lansdale. This year it’s Richard Laymon. Which brings me to my answer. For me, currently the book that captures the season best is Laymon’s Night In The Lonesome October.

Brian Keene is the prolific author of dozens of novels, novellas, short stories and comic books. Contrary to popular belief, only a few of them are about zombies. His latest releases include Sundancing, Earthworm Gods II: Deluge, and the digital versions of Scratch and Alone. The movie adaptation of his novel Ghoul will be released on DVD on January 8, 2013. 

More Essential October Reads

Leave a Reply

