Essential October Reads: Mary SanGiovanni

It’s become an annual tradition here in October Country to share my Essential October Reads, those works that best capture the essence of the Halloween season for me. This year I’ve asked some of my favorite authors to share their own Essential October Reads with us.

Today’s entry comes from Bram Stoker Award-nominated author Mary SanGiovanni. 

Skeleton Crew by Stephen King – there is a feeling I get when I read this book that reminds me of crisp fall days, new seasons, good feelings. That smell of leaves and the air changing makes me feel good — it’s the same kind of feeling.
Something Wicked This Way Comes and October Country by Ray Bradbury – These are quintessential autumn books.  The former is not only about fall, but about all the change a new “season” brings.  It reminds me of chances for new beginnings.  Bradbury had such a masterful way with words, and it’s inspiring.
Mary SanGiovanni has been publishing fiction in periodicals and anthologies for more than a decade. She is the author of several novels, including her latest, Thrall, and has written the novellas For Emmy and Possessing Amy.
2 thoughts on “Essential October Reads: Mary SanGiovanni

  1. Pingback: A Couple Quick Updates «

Leave a Reply

