Essential October Read: Christopher Golden

It’s become an annual tradition here in October Country to share my Essential October Reads, those works that best capture the essence of the Halloween season for me. This year I’ve asked some of my favorite authors to share their own Essential October Reads with us. Today’s Essential Read comes from the prolific and award-winning author Christopher Golden.

Of course my first instinct would be to say Something Wicked This Way Comes or The Halloween Tree, because let’s face it, Bradbury had October in his soul.  But beyond that, oddly enough, the first thing that comes to mind is The Hound of the Baskervilles.  I don’t remember when the novel is set but there’s something so autumnal about the misty moors and the remoteness of the estate…I think I’m going to put that one on the top of my To Be Read shelf for October this year.

Christopher Golden is a New York Times Bestselling author. His recent releases include two collaborations with Hellboy creator Mike Mignola, Joe Golem and the Drowning City and Father Gaetano’s Puppet Catechism. He also edited the recent zombie anthology 21st Century Dead.

More Essential October Reads

Leave a Reply

