Random Link Roundup

I’ve been collecting little bits here and there all week, but nothing I could really do a whole post around. It’s all stuff I want to share, so I’m just going to throw it all in one post and invite you to dig in. I’ll try not to do this too often, as I generally like my posts to, you know, have a point.

Random Bit #1 comes from Mulholland Books, the suspense/crime fiction imprint of Little, Brown and Company. Mulholland has racked up an impressive roster since its debut earlier this year (and they’re publishing a new Joe R. Lansdale book, Edge of Dark Water, next year, so you know they’re good people). They use their website for a lot more than running press releases about their upcoming books, and this week they’ve got a particularly cool feature called “How to Get Hooked on Crime Comics.” Writer David Pepose offers up a short but dead-on list of suggestions that demonstrate the comics medium is a powerful showcase for more than just the capes-and-tights crowd.

Moving on, Cemetery Dance announced the latest title in their Signature Series this week: Four Legs in the Morning by Norman Prentiss. It’s a collection of three linked stories, and you can download the title story for free direct from Cemetery Dance.

I’ve talked at length about Clive Barker’s Abarat series a couple of times, including earlier this week, and today I’m going to talk about it again. There are a couple of trailers out now for the book, both of which celebrate just how weird and wonderful the series is. Abarat: Absolute Midnight is out on September 27, and yes, there will eventually be a review.

Lastly, I wanted to point you in the direction of a couple of things I’ve written for other places. I’ve got a longish interview with author Scott Sigler over at Horror World, where we talk about his popular “Infected” trilogy and his views on digital publishing. At FEARnet this week I’m starting a new semi-regular feature called “Small Press Spotlight,” and I kick it off with a look at one of my favorite publishers, Creeping Hemlock Press.

There. That should be enough to keep you busy for a while. I’ve got lots of irons in the fire for the rest of this month and a probably-impossible-but-I’m-going-to-try-anyway slate in mind for October, so keep checking back. And seriously, thanks to everyone who takes the time to read, “Like”, and/or comment on the stuff I do here. It’s much appreciated.

One thought on “Random Link Roundup

Leave a Reply

