*UPDATED with winners!*View horror’s ‘Oscars’ live on Saturday night

The Bram Stoker Award.

UPDATE: Congratulations to the winners:

NOVEL: A Dark Matter by Peter Straub
FIRST NOVEL: (tie) Black and Orange by Benjamin Kane Ethridge and The Castle of Los Angeles by Lisa Morton
LONG FICTION: Invisible Fences by Norman Prentiss
SHORT FICTION: “The Folding Man” by Joe R. Lansdale
ANTHOLOGY: Haunted Legends by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas
COLLECTION: Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
NONFICTION: To Each Their Darkness by Gary Braunbeck
POETRY: Dark Matters by Bruce Boston
LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT: Ellen Datlow and Al Feldstein

As we speak, Long Island, New York is playing host to some of the most outstanding talent the horror genre has to offer. It’s Stoker Weekend 2011, the annual gathering hosted by the Horror Writers Association to discuss and steer the future of the genre, as well as to celebrate the previous year’s literary achievements with the 24th Annual Bram Stoker Awards.

This year, professionals and fans alike who are unable to attend the awards gala will have the unique opportunity to watch the presentations live online. It’s an amazing field this year, with genre vets like Stephen King, Peter Straub and Joe R. Lansdale going head-to-head with new talent such as R.J. Cavender, Nate Southard and Norman Prentiss. The event is scheduled to begin at 9:30 p.m. EST on Saturday night (June 18). Good luck to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s