Cemetery Dance announces 25th Anniversary Edition of Stephen King’s ‘It’

So, when this news broke yesterday, I was all prepared to rush over here and get something up on the blog about it – but then, the Cemetery Dance website broke, and I realized there was really no hurry. Cemetery Dance didn’t need my help selling these books – obviously – and most people who wanted to know such a thing was available already knew it.

But here I am today, posting about it. Why? Because let’s be honest – without Stephen King, there wouldn’t an October Country blog. Not this one, anyway. And the reason I started this blog was to talk about the things that make me happy. This is definitely one of them.

So, as you all probably know by now, Cemetery Dance – one of the horror genre’s biggest champions and one of the finest small press publishers working today – is releasing a 25th anniversary edition of Stephen King’s It. Three editions, per the usual CD model – lettered, limited and gift. Oversized and overstuffed with new artwork and a new afterword by King himself. When CD says this is a big book, they don’t just mean in stature – they mean in pure physicality. This book is nearly a foot tall and likely to clock in at over 1,000 pages. I mean, it was a doorstop in the regular trade edition – this edition is going to be a beast.

So, why all the excitement? Well, I can’t speak for anyone else, but for me it’s exciting because CD always seems to do something special with their King books, and this looks to be no exception. Also, because it’s a fresh look at what is, for me, one of the best AND the most frustrating King books out there. I think parts of It – the parts detailing the childhood summer days of Stuttering Bill Denbrough and his outcast buddies – rank up there as some of King’s best work. The book also contains some of King’s most frightening work. It also has one of my least favorite King scenes in the final 1958 confrontation between the kids and thing haunting Derry. You who have read it probably know what I’m referring to. At the time, it just seemed gratuitous and unnecessary. This new announcement is giving me reason to give it another chance, to see if it works better the second time around.

This has already been a runaway success for CD, and I have no doubt they’ll deliver a stunning final product. As for me, I’m going to try not to dwell on the fact that it’s been 25 years since this book came out, and instead look forward to the opportunity to catch up with seven old friends.

Leave a Reply

